Image

This is just a screen shot of the raw paper cut scans, I want quite a rich texture for this image but at the same time for it to look minimal and not over complicated.

Image

I need to decide on a size for my publication to get a proper idea in terms of canvas size to wok with, at the moment I am leaning towards A5 or a typical newspaper size if I decided to create a ‘zine’
With this image it is important to get across the cramp environment of East end streets so I might play around with adding more buildings and making them longer and thinner.

Image

I’ve started by adding a distorted texture of charcoal, it is such a beautiful texture but its just didn’t sit right with the image even when I lowered the transparency like in the example above.

Image

This second texture was created using a grey promarker and works a lot better than the charcoal texture maybe because it’s a relatively flat colour and the only distortion is subtle and minimal.

Image

Initially for this part of the image I hoped to photograph a real flame to sit in the lamp but the result didn’t work as I planned so instead I just used the paint tool on photoshop on a low hardness to create a soft edge like light caught in the thick air.
I’m not sure if I like the colour/if it is needed so I will also try a black and white version.

Image

This last example is just a play around with transparency and the idea of shadows lurking in the lamps light.
The variation in creeper size does add an eery feel to the image which I love!

