Just finished watching Tim Burtons enchanting adaptation of the classic Alice in Wonderland.
A typical, and I mean this in the most positive way, Burton film, characterized not only by his choice in actors and composer but also his weird and wonderful approach to aesthetic by inviting us to this surreal dream world that I am sure I am not alone in wishing to visit!

Colleen Atwood, Costume Designer most known for her work in the Harry Potter films, Chicago and Sweeny Todd. In this film and much like her others she  has the most amazing attention to detail especially with the mad hatter. Bobbins, thimbles and a cushion pin for a ring subtly represent the hatters trade.

The red Queen wears the most quirky of dresses, much like how I remember from the book illustrations. Big extravagant dresses full of colour and fabric and what we are used to seeing Helen in in most of her roles.

Lastly I wanted to highlight the costumes featured in the white Queens castle which are almost ruminant of the French Renaissance Period of which I love.

Makes me want to watch Marie Antoinette…and eat cake.

